Crypto Boot Camp returns later this month after a successful series in 2021. This year, the virtual seminar series will provide insights on how the regulatory landscape is changing and discuss the future of crypto within the financial services sector, including practical considerations when integrating crypto into established financial services, significant legal and regulatory risk, NFTs, DeFi and growth in the sector.

The sessions will be held via Zoom, with joining details shared with interested participants upon registration. You can also share your questions ahead of time for our experts during registration.

Set out below are details of our 2022 series.

The crypto ecosystem
Tuesday, 20 September 2.30 pm BST / 3.30 pm CEST
This training session will explain the main crypto legal structures and the participants in the crypto ecosystem, including exchanges, wallets and custodians.
Speakers: Mark SimpsonJulian HuiSteffi IllegemsBen ThatcherSubatra Thiruchittampalam

Integrating crypto into established financial services
Part 1: funds and listings

Thursday 29 September, 10.00 am BST / 5.00 pm HKT
This panel will discuss fund structuring and the challenges for conventional funds investing in crypto assets, including a discussion on crypto as part of wealth management and the rise of tokenised bonds.
Speakers: Bill FuggleJoy LamStephanie MagnusCatherine MartouginAnsgar Schott

Integrating crypto into established financial services
Part 2: practical considerations

Tuesday 11 October, 9.00 am BST / 4.00 pm HKT
This panel will cover practical issues such as settlement in crypto, compliance with safeguarding/custody and outsourcing requirements, the territoriality of offerings, and regulatory warnings to consumers.
Speakers: Karen Man; Melody Hoay; Julian HuiShemira JeevaratnamSubatra Thiruchittampalam

Crypto risk: significant legal and regulatory risks
Thursday 3 November, 4.00 pm GMT / 12.00 pm EDT
This panel will review different key areas of risk in the sector, including financial crime, litigation and regulatory enforcement, sanctions issues, tax compliance and cyber security.
Speakers: Philip AnnettJennifer ConnorsAlex LamyTaylor ReidAiden O’LearySarah Williams

A deep dive into NFTs
Tuesday 15 November, 9.00 am GMT / 5.00 pm HKT
This panel will look at the rise of non-fungible tokens (NFTs) in gaming, digital arts and more and the interrelationship with financial services regulation.
Speakers: Manuel LorenzSue McLeanAshlin PerumallKullarat PhongsathapornOlivier Van den broeke

DeFi
Thursday 1 December, 4.00 pm GMT / 11.00 am EST
What is ‘DeFi’ (decentralised finance)? This panel will review the interrelationship with financial services regulation and understanding DeFi staking.
Speakers: Iris BarsanPaula De BiaseGabriel Gomez-GiglioAlfonso Martinez-BejaranoTaylor ReidAiden O’Leary

Growth in crypto: capital raising, M&A and scale up
Tuesday 6 December, 4.00 pm GMT / 11.00 am EST
Our last panel will look at issues in crypto business growth, including scale ups, crypto-driven M&A, financing, risk and restructuring.
Speakers: Debra DandeneauHaden HendersonLawrence LeeMark Simpson

Please note: the high-level guidance provided in these sessions is not intended to be comprehensive legal advice.

If you are unable to attend and would like to receive video recordings of this virtual seminar series please register your interest here.

Author

From starting off with four lawyers, a secretary in 1949, to becoming one of the largest law firm by revenues, markets and headcount today, our commitment to excellence underpins our path to success. With 77 offices in 47 countries and 13,000 people, we are the world's premier global law firm.